The Greatest Cinematographer to Have Never Won an Oscar

roger deakins cinematographer

With 13 Oscar nominations (14 as of the upcoming 2018 awards), Roger Deakins is the greatest cinematographer to have never won an Academy Award.

There’s no other living cinematographer that deserves it more.

TIFF Originals over on YouTube have compiled a video featuring the director’s 13 nominations over the years, and the films he lost to.

Deakins sports one of the most impressive credits list in all of modern filmmaking, having done the cinematography for such films as The Shawshank Redemption (1994), Fargo (1996), Kundun (1997), No Country For Old Men (2007), Skyfall (2012) and Sicario (2015).

That’s 5 visually stunning films of which he earned an Oscar nomination for, but ultimately lost.

His latest nod is for Blade Runner 2049 (2017), which was one of the most visually striking movies of last year, and may be his very best chance of winning.

He’s not without some stiff competition at this year’s awards though, going up against Bruno Delbonnel for Darkest HourDan Laustsen for The Shape of WaterRachel Morrison for Mudbound and Hoyte van Hoytema for Dunkirk.

After such a storied career in the field, it goes without saying that we should be rooting for Deakins to take home the award for Blade Runner 2049.

Check out the video below and let us know your thoughts in the comments.

1604 posts

About author
Loves producing content as much as consuming it. Deserted Island Movie Collection: The films of Quentin Tarantino. Best Movie Snack: Nachos.


Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments